Princess Memorial Obedience Award

presented by JoyceAnn Matejcek

Rules and Regulations

"At the 1984 National, I presented to the Organization something especially dear to my heart, a "Princess Obedience Memorial" which will be a permanent trophy. The main trophy will remain with me and be placed on display from year to year, and a smaller trophy will be awarded each year to the person/dog team that qualifies under specific requirements." (JoyceAnn Matejcek)

With JoyceAnn's passing in September of 2013, the award was passed into the care and custody of Nancy H. Swanner, who will continue the award as directed by JoyceAnn.

    1.  The time element will run from June 1 to May 31 of the following year. (This time frame may be extended to conform to WGSDCII award deadlines.)

    2.  Scores must come from the licensed shows of AKC or CKC; one may show as many times as you want during that year, under your specific class level(s). Enter your scores to obtain the highest average. Only one award a year is to be presented.

    STIPULATION:  Princess was a top scoring obedience dog and, as a credit to her memory, the dogs that receive the award must have at least an average score in the 190ís. You can take any three scores and their average must come somewhere in the 190ís range.

    3.  The information is to be sent to Nancy H. Swanner on the Official Princess Memorial Form to determine the winner for each year. A copy should also be submitted to the Obedience Director for publication in the DIN. This is your responsibility to submit these scores to be eligible for the award.

    4.  Dogs must be handled by the owner(s) or a member of the immediate family of the owner(s). The definition of "immediate family" shall be: Husband, wife, father, mother, son, daughter, brother, sister, father-in-law, mother-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, brother-in-law or sister-in-law.

    5.  The owner(s) and handler must be a current member in good standing of the WGSDCII.

    6.  The award will be presented only to a white German Shepherd Dog.

    7.   Each white German Shepherd Dog can receive the award only once. The handler may receive it multiple times with different dogs.

This award is donated with no cost to the Organization as a living memorial in tribute to "Princess" for her outstanding work in the Obedience ring. The first Award was presented at the 1985 National Conformation Show.


1985 - Rector's Samson, CD (Mark Rector, OK)
1986 - UCD Chaos Shafer, CDX, CanCD (Stephanie Shafer, CT)
1987 - UCD Chaos Shafer, CDX, CanCD
1988 - Hoofprint Bea, CD (Denise Mencke, NY)
1989 - V. Sunlit's White Spirit, CD, CanCD, HC (Linda Haagenstad, MN)
1990 - UCD Baron Cain von Hielo, CD (J. Pollina & C. Sample, FL)
1991 - V. Joseph's Aspen Lilie Lady, CD (Therese Kupietz, TX)
1992 - No award
1993 - U-CD JoKay's Czardona Weiss Lobo, CD, CGC (Joe Partch, MN)
1994 - Wonderland's Silver Eagle, CD (Rose Ingram, TX)
1995 - Regalwise Mountain Mist, CD (Lorraine Moule, CT)
1996 - Ve-Lin's Sabre of Braehead, CD, TT, CGC (Susan Ewart)
1997 - 2001 - No award
2002 - MM Holland's Heidi, CDX (Susan Holland, TX)
2003 - Pitt's Sarge Sno-Cloud Corky, CDX (Bert Haagenstad, AZ)
2004 - No award
2005 - Genesis Brenna, CDX (Susan Holland, TX)
2004 - 2014 - No award

Mark RectorMark RectorMark Rector
The first Princess Memorial Award Winner, Mark Rector, and Joyce Ann Matejcek
JoyceAnn was delighted to have her current and three past Princess Memorial Award recipients present at the 2002 National Awards Banquet. From left to right:
Rose Ingram (1994); Joe Partch (1993); JoyceAnn with Princess Trophy; Terri Wagner (1991) and Susan Holland (2002)

2003 Awards Banquet - Princess Memorial Winners
Joe Partch (1993 - Lobo)
Rose Ingram (1994 - Eagle)
Joyce Ann Matejcek (with the Princess Award)
Bert Haagenstad (2003 - Corky [posthumusly])

At the 2005 National Banquet, past Princess Memorial Award Winners Joe Partch (Lobo-1993), Rose Ingram (Eagle-1994), Bert Haagenstad (Corky-2003), Susan Holland (Heidi-2002 & Brenna-2005) and Terese Wagner (Aspen-1991)